Groves Sparring with the best!!

1 09 2009
George Groves & Giacobbe Fragomeni after sparring.

George Groves & Giacobbe Fragomeni after sparring.

Due to the collapse of Setanta, the Hayemaker stable of fighters have been out of action whilst a new tv deal is being negotiated. Hence why George Groves hasn’t fought since April. Despite this, he’s been getting in some quality sparring with some of the best and biggest operators around.

Groves had already been in with WBC Super-middleweight champion Carl Froch ahead of his stunning victory over Jermain Taylor and the sounds coming from the gym were that he certainly held his own with Froch admitting to being impressed with the young prospect, “I’ve had a few spars with George Groves. He’s a good fighter and I reckon has all the attributes to do well as a pro. He is strong, can box and has the aggressive streak in him. I rate him and believe he can do the business in the future”. “He’s has good energy. He likes a fight, which I admire. Yeah, good prospect is George Groves”.

More recently however, Groves has been in with the likes of Ryan Rhodes, Domenico Spada and Giacobbe Fragomeni, the WBC Cruiserweight World Champion. Fragomeni is an old foe of David Haye’s, having taken the Brit into the trenches in their bloodied encounter three years ago for the EBU European title before Haye eventually stopped him in the 9th. Talking to boxing news Groves explained how those two have stayed on good terms and that “I think Fragomeni wanted someone a bit quicker than him, and I’m the same height as his next opponent [Krzysztof Wlodarczyk – they eventually drew]. So two days after my last fight, I ended up out there. I was there for five-six days”. Groves went on to discuss the sparring, “He did most of his sparring with me while I was there – four six-rounders – and I more than held my own. He wanted someone quick who throws a lot of shots but can both stand with him – because I can take a shot – and get on their toes. Adam Booth said before I went that there’s no point just going to stay on my toes. That I can work inside with a cruiserweight world champion, who’s a come-forward fighter, will stand me in good stead.” It’s certainly a hugely impressive step for Groves to go in with an opponent of that size and style and so, despite the lay-off from competitive action, Groves has definitely been gaining plenty of experience from sparring different types of quality fighters.

Here’s George sparring Italian Domenico Spada before he fought for the interim WBC middleweight title:

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

