Groves to fight on October 4th!!

2 09 2009

George Groves will make his 5th professional appearance on Sunday 4th October at the York Hall in Bethnal Green, London.

Hayemaker 10 - October 4th

Hayemaker 10 - October 4th

The ‘Saint” will be headlining HAYEMAKER 10 in his first outing since April after a frustrating lay-off for an otherwise busy fighter.  “I was gutted about not boxing on the (cancelled) July 4th show in Liverpool and it feels like it’s been ages since I’ve been in the ring,” said Groves. “It’s now the new season and I can’t wait to get back and fight in London again. I’m chuffed to be boxing at the York Hall and am eager to kick off the new season with a bang.”

An opponent is yet to be named, but Groves will be hoping to register another impressive victory after two big stoppage wins in the 1st round against Sandor Polgar and Paul Samuels. Already ranked 12th in the British rankings at 168 pounds, another victory for Groves should see him move onto bigger fights. “After this fight in October, I’ll be looking to fight someone with a big name – someone that will allow me to make a statement,” he says. “My best opponent so far is Samuels and I want an even bigger step up than him before the end of the year. I was a two-bout novice going in against a former title challenger in Samuels, but now I’m looking for the next step. We’ve had all summer to look at possible opponents and I’m ready for whoever it is we decide on.”

Groves has been sparring with some top quality opposition since his last fight, which should provide invaluable experience going forwards and he’ll soon be heading to Italy to add hugely experienced Light-Heavyweight Silvio Branco to a list that already includes the likes of Carl Froch and Giacobbe Fragomeni. “I’ve been sparring all around Europe and in most cases have been sparring as soon as I jump off the plane. I’ve not been 100% like I would be for a fight and that makes the sparring, in a way, harder than most of the fights I will have for the first couple of years as a pro.” explains Groves.  “I’m also sparring world champions, European champions and number one contenders, so these guys are at the top of the sport. Sparring fighters like that can only bring you on leaps and bounds.”

“I’ll now be going into future fights knowing that I’ve shared sparring sessions with better fighters than my opponent. My next opponent is not going to be any better than someone like Carl Froch, Giacobbe Fragomeni, Domenico Spada or Silvio Branco – I’m pretty sure of that. If he is – bring it on.”

Tickets: Standard £30 Ringside £45
Doors open 2.45pm boxing starts at 3pm
Call 07939 387 980 for tickets.

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 09 2009
tucker

Groves great boxer…..but think sutherland and jeffries……and dickson would beat him hands down,also remember when dickson ko george and beating him on points.

25 09 2009
Exclusive George Groves Interview!!! « GrovesVDeGale

[…] fan base? Yeah of course, you never forget where you’re from. I had the option of not boxing on October 4th, there were other options, but I said no I’ll box on Oct 4th because that way I get the chance […]

Leave a Reply

