DeGale: “I’d love to knock the silly ugly ginger kid out!”

4 02 2010

James DeGale has responded to George Groves’ fight offer saying he’d be happy to take the fight, and that it would be a “pleasure to get in the ring with him and knock him out.”

Watch the video on The Sun online


DeGale told the Sun newspaper’s Gavin Glicksman: “The silly little ginger kid, well, what I say is go and speak to my promoter as I’ll box anyone Frank puts in front of me.

“I’d like to fight Groves and stick him 10 spaces back in his career, if he really wants that, because he’d get knocked out.

“So speak to my promoter and we’ll get it on — sooner rather than later.

“I’d love to knock the ugly ginger kid out!”

Groves’ trainer Adam Booth said yesterday he felt there was no better place for the two rising super-middleweight stars to settle their old rivalry than on the same bill as David Haye’s WBA world heavyweight title defence against John Ruiz at Manchester’s M.E.N Arena on 3 April.

“You can’t get a bigger stage than a world heavyweight championship fight,” he said.

“Not only will the world’s media be watching, but Groves and DeGale would also box in front of a sold-out crowd at the MEN Arena. There would be plenty of incentive for both men.

“George doesn’t want to wait and risk the fight never happening – he wants to meet DeGale as soon as possible and he wants to do it on the biggest stage possible.”

Olympic gold medallist DeGale seems to echo that view, saying, “We could wait until further down the line, but I’d rather just get it over and done with.”

He was also keen to stress he feels Groves didn’t deserve to win their fight in the amateurs, adding; “Robbed, robbed, robbed, he robbed me. It was a close competitive fight but I should have won.

“But as I say, that was in the amateur days and we’re pros now. I’m coming on leaps and bounds and it’ll be my pleasure to get in the ring with him and knock him out.”

The war of words looks set to rumble on then, and fans will now have to wait and see if the rivals’ promoters can agree a deal.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

