DeGale: “If Frank told me I was boxing George next, I’d be jumping for joy”

9 04 2010

James DeGale has told The Sun newspaper he DOES want to fight rival George Groves.

Groves won the Commonwealth title recently after DeGale rejected a £50,000 offer to fight his former dale Youth stablemate, but he insists he does want to fight Groves at some stage. “Groves is the fight I want. I want it to happen now, but it doesn’t work like that.” DeGale explained.

“I’ve been pushing for it, although sometimes it’s not that simple when fighters have different promoters. At the end of the day, I’m with Frank Warren and he’s with Hayemaker.

“People are saying it’s down to me that it’s not happened, but I’ll fight anyone out there. Whoever’s put in front me, I’ll knock them out.

“If Frank told me I was boxing George next, I’d be jumping for joy. At the end of the day, I can’t wait to face him.

“I’m sure further down the line we can have a big, big showdown and get it on.”

To read the full article, head HERE

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

