Groves to make American debut in Vegas

12 06 2010

Commonwealth super-middleweight champion George Groves will make his American debut in Las Vegas on July 31st, fighting on the undercard of the Juan Manuel Marquez v Juan Diaz WBO lightweight title clash.

The Saint will be hoping to make it third time lucky in completing his Vegas dream, having seen two previous stateside bouts fall through. Initially scheduled to fight on the undercard of Shane Mosley and Andre Berto’s cancelled welterweight clash in January, the 22 year-old also saw a place on the Mosley v Mayweather bill in May go up in smoke, or rather volcanic ash, as the dust cloud prevented him from flying.

“My previous frustrations for my delayed US debut have been hard to take but the right thing in hindsight”, said Groves.

“I want to put on a show, be my very best and win over fans stateside. I have eight weeks to prepare for this fight so I will be in peak condition and ready to rock!

“The US have some very promising super-middleweights starting to break through, it’s my job to show they won’t be having it all their own way in years to come on the biggest stage.

“Golden Boy Promotions have great faith in me, I plan to repay them with dazzling performances.”

Groves put in a superb performance last time out in April, becoming the first man to stop durable Ghanaian Charles Adamu with an impressive sixth round stoppage win that saw him claim the Commonwealth strap in just his ninth pro bout. However, his fight at the Mandalay Bay Resort is not expected to be for that belt.

“It’s very unlikely that I will be defending my Commonwealth title due to time available on the show,” explained Groves.

“I am more likely to do an eight or ten rounder against a tough Mexican opponent! In your boxing career if you never face a battle-hardened, blood thirsty Mexican fighting for his family from a small ghetto in the homeland frankly you haven’t lived.

“We are taking this fight very seriously, it is not a publicity fight where I will go knock over a “bum”. I plan to be tested as always, American fights are the best in the world. No slip-ups can happen so I am in full training and treating this like a defence of my title.

“An actual defence is most likely to happen in September. There are only whispers of hope that might be at the moment but as I said before I will take on all-comers!”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

