Groves to fight Anderson on collision course with old enemy DeGale

4 11 2010

George Groves has confirmed he will fight Kenny Anderson on the November 13th Haye v Harrison bill at the MEN Arena. The fight will be a defence of his Commonwealth title but will also be a Final Eliminator for the British strap. Should Groves beat Anderson he will be mandatory challenger for the winner of the December battle between James Degale and current champion Paul Smith.

“It’s going to be a defence of my Commonwealth title which I’m happy about and also, more importantly, it’s going to be a final eliminator for the British title as well,” he told his own website, georgegroves.com.

“Everyone’s heard me moaning and whining about not being in the mix for the British title but now we’ve well and truly wedged our way in. So, providing I deliver the goods against Anderson, I’ll be fighting the winner of that British title fight at the end of the year.

“I’m so lucky to be boxing at the MEN Arena again, with it sold out. Last time when I got in the ring, there must have been a good 15,000 people in there and the reception was ecstatic.

“If I can get anything like that again, this is what you live for in boxing, it’s what you work hard for. I’m just chuffed.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

