“I’m going to take him apart – mentally and physically” – Groves eyeing DeGale clash

18 11 2010

George Groves has set his sights on a blockbuster showdown with arch-rival James DeGale, following his all-action victory over previously unbeaten Scot Kenny Anderson at the weekend.

Groves was involved in the fight of the night on the Sky Box Office Haye v Harrison bill and paid full credit to Anderson after stopping the Scot in six: “All credit to him; he was a really strong tough guy. He gave me exactly what I needed at this stage of my career”, said Groves.

“I’ve had to come through a tough fight with Kenny, who in my opinion would give DeGale and Smith a good run for their money. I’ve stopped him in six rounds and nobody has come close to that before.

“Hopefully everyone who has seen the fight has enjoyed it. I’m going to go and analyse it because there were a lot of mistakes. Whether that was literally mistakes in the fight or in the lead up to the fight, we’ll have to address because it wasn’t as smooth as it could have been.”

That bout with Anderson was a final eliminator for the British title – an astute move from Hayemaker, who recently had their counter-offer to fight DeGale dismissed out of hand, which means Groves is now the mandatory challenger for the winner of the December 11th clash between DeGale and current British title holder Paul Smith in Liverpool.

“He has to fight me if he comes through Smith,” added Groves.

“I want to fight James Degale. He’s destined for failure. He talks a good game but once he gets in there with someone real and someone live like me then he will be on the floor.

“It will be like Bernard Hopkins and Kelly Pavlik. Is this the superstar everyone has built up? I know how to take him apart mentally and physically. That’s what will happen.

“It’s not even a foregone conclusion in Liverpool next month. Fingers crossed he does win, although that’s not to say I don’t like Smith. That would also be a cracking fight too whether it’s in London or Liverpool because both sets of fans would travel for it.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

