DeGale all set for British Title showdown

7 12 2010

Olympic Gold medallist James DeGale is all set for his toughest professional fight to date as he takes on current British Champion Paul Smith at the Echo Arena in Liverpool this Saturday.

“Me and Paul Smith is going to be a proper little scrap – I really can’t wait for this,” DeGale told Sky Sports’ Ringside show.

“Obviously I’m going into the lion’s den but a ring is a ring and all of his fans aren’t going to be in the ring on fight night.

“We aren’t the best of friends. I was very, very good friends with Stephen Smith. I travelled the world with him as an amateur and at one point I was probably spending more time with him than my actual family.

“But business is business and on December 11 we’re going to have to stick our friendship aside for 36 minutes and go to war.

“I think they’re hoping that he drags me into the later rounds and jumps on me then,” he said. “But please believe me, I’ll get better as the fight goes on.

DeGale will be hoping to emulate rival George Groves by picking up a domestic title in only his ninth pro fight. Should the Beijing Gold medallist succeed, he will then be set to face Mandatory challenger Groves in a mouthwatering domestic unification showdown in the New Year.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

