Groves: “He knows that I’ve got his number”

5 03 2011

George Groves cruised to a 4th round stoppage victory over tricky Ghanaian Southpaw Daniel Allotey on Saturday night and then immediately called on Olympic champion James DeGale and his camp to make a British super middleweight title showdown happen.

He told Sky Sports: “I’m very happy. I was aiming to put a few things I have been working on in the gym into the ring. It was the perfect opponent, very awkward, very gangly, long arms, very strong, exactly what we needed and I’m very happy.

“It would have been stupid not to get a southpaw in with the James DeGale fight coming up.

“(When it happens) It will be a Groves win. Whether it comes by knockout or points, I don’t really care. He knows that I’ve got his number and he’s going to struggle to sleep in the preparation for this fight because he is going to have me on his brain all the time.”

Trainer Adam Booth added: “The fight has to happen. I have been speaking with James’ people on a daily basis and we are very close to making an announcement.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

